Do you use any additives, preservatives or dough conditioners in your products?
No, we use only the finest ingredients in all of our products and never use additives, preservatives or dough conditioners of any kind. Each loaf is made by hand, from scratch from start to finish, every day.
Do your breads contain trans fat?
Our core line-up of breads consists primarily of flour, water, yeast and salt, so the ingredients that would add trans fat are not present in most of our products.
While we have always avoided trans fat, the Breadsmith stores that are kosher cannot use butter and may instead use margarine, which may contain partially hydrogenated oils. We try to use alternatives to margarine when we can to avoid trans fat. When we have to use margarine we select the best possible option to balance trans fat with other nutritional aspects and other fats.
Why is pan spray listed in the ingredients?
When we bake our breads in pans we have to use a release agent. In some situations that is a pan spray. Almost all pan sprays contain soy, which has been identified as one of the major allergens. Because a trace amount of the pan spray may transfer to the exterior of the bread, we list it in the ingredients.
Do your products contain allergens?
Allergens potentially present in our products may include wheat, eggs, milk, tree nuts, peanuts and soy. Each of our locations is locally owned and operated, so the product offerings vary greatly to provide each neighborhood with its own variety of products. Because of that the possible presence of these allergens will vary from store to store.
If the bread you purchased was baked in a pan, it is possible that a trace amount of soy may be transferred to the loaf during the baking process. Please contact your neighborhood Breadsmith and ask to speak to the store owner or manager to find out if they use a pan spray that contains soy, or for other specific questions regarding any allergen concerns you may have.
Are any of your products vegan?
While our products are not certified vegan, many are made without animal products. In fact, our core line-up of breads is made with only flour, water, yeast and salt. Please refer to the ingredients and nutritional information for each product for more specific information.
Do you sell gluten free products?
Some of our locations offer gluten free bread on a limited basis. Please contact the store nearest you to find out if and when gluten free bread is available, or to place an order.
It is important to note that while the ingredients are gluten free, our bread is made in a gluten environment. We take production of gluten free products seriously and have strict procedures in place to ensure the safety of the product. Our bakeries are locally owned and operated and each owner decides which products out of more than 200 Breadsmith recipes they want to offer to their community. If they would like to offer gluten free products, they take extra precautions during production to make sure that there is no cross-contamination. They also test every batch before it is sold to confirm that the products exceed the federal requirements for gluten free. If you have any question about the process, please contact your local store and ask to speak to the owner or manager.